Daily Prompt – My Week in Songs.

This week has been pretty interesting.  Getting super restless at my job and my wanderlust craving is through the roof!

Miranda Lambert has been my girl this week. Love her attitude and the way she just doesn’t really care what people think or are going to say, and then translates it into music. I wish I could be a classy broad, but that just isn’t me and that just isn’t what is going to happen. PLUS she rescues dogs, so I gotta love her!

miranda-lambert-600

Song #1 – Aistream Song by Miranda Lambert

“Sometimes I wish I lived on a mountain
Drank from a stream instead of a fountain
I’d stay there, top of the world
But I was born a *Great Lakes* girl

Unbridled or tethered and tied
The safety of the fence
Or the danger of the ride
I’ll always be unsatisfied”

Just a sampling of the beautiful lyrics, and I substituted “red dirt” for “great lakes!” It rhymes!!

Song #2 – Making Plans by Miranda Lambert

“If I ever left this town
I’d never settle down
I’d just be wanderin’ around
If I ever left this town

If I wasn’t by your side
I’d never be satisfied
Nothin’ would feel just right
If I wasn’t by your side

‘Cause I’m not easy to understand
But you know me like the back of your hand
I’m your girl and you’re my man
And we’re makin’ plans….

We can go on and on
Won’t ever feel too long
I’ll always call you home
And we’ll go on and on

‘Cause I know you like the back of my hand
Got a heart of gold and a piece of land
I’m your girl and you’re my man
And we’re makin’ plans….”

l-o-v-e it! Apparently I have no satisfaction right now – meantioned two songs in a row! 

segeryoung

Song #3 – Shame on the Moon by Bob Seger

We went to go see this man, this LEGEND last Saturday. Amazing!!! I cried twice. I just love him!!!!!

“Once inside a woman’s heart
A man must keep his head
Heaven opens up the door
Where angels fear to tread
Some men go crazy
Some men go slow
Some men go just where they want
Some men never go

Oh blame it on midnight
Ooh shame on the moon”

220px-Don_Henley_-_Boys_of_Summer_cover

Song #4 Boys of Summer by Don Henley

“But I can see you
Your brown skin shining in the sun
You got your hair combed back and your
Sunglasses on baby
I can tell you my love for you will still be strong
After the boys of summer, have gone

I never will forget those nights
I wonder if it was a dream
Remember how you made me crazy
Remember how I made you scream
Now I don’t understand
What happened to our love
But babe I’m gonna get you back
I’m gonna show you what I’m made of ”

Missing summer and those nights… ❤

Last but not least, song #5!!  I’m going with Seger again, Roll Me Away

“Took a look down a westbound road,
Right away I made my choice
Headed out to my big two-wheeler,
I was tired of my own voice
Took a bead on the northern plains
And just rolled that power on

Twelve hours out of mackinaw city
Stopped in a bar to have a brew
Met a girl and we had a few drinks
And I told her what I’d decided to do
She looked out the window a long long moment
Then she looked into my eyes
She didn’t have to say a thing,
I knew what she was thinkin’

Roll, roll me away,
Won’t you roll me away tonight
I too am lost, I feel double-crossed
And I’m sick of what’s wrong and what’s right
We never even said a word,
We just walked out and got on that bike
And we rolled
And we rolled clean out of sight

We rolled across the high plains
Deep into the mountains
Felt so good to me
Finally feelin’ free

Somewhere along a high road
The air began to turn cold
She said she missed her home
I headed on alone

Stood alone on a mountain top,
Starin’ out at the great divide
I could go east, I could go west,
It was all up to me to decide
Just then I saw a young hawk flyin’
And my soul began to rise
And pretty soon
My heart was singin’

Roll, roll me away,
I’m gonna roll me away tonight
Gotta keep rollin, gotta keep ridin’,
Keep searchin’ till I find what’s right
And as the sunset faded
I spoke to the faintest first starlight
And I said next time
Next time
We’ll get it right”

WANDERLUST! 🙂

xoxox kmz

Leave a Reply

